Your lawyers

News

A New Addition to Belleau Lapointe’s Team: Sarah Holloway

Our congratulations to our new lawyer Sarah Holloway, who was sworn in on September 18. Sarah first joined Belleau Lapointe’s team as an articling student . She will be focusing her practice on class actions, as well as civil and commercial litigation. Her work experience in a reputable Montreal notary firm also leads her to take a great interest in estate litigation matters.

Wednesday, September 18, 2019: Sarah Holloway with Maxime Nasr, partner at Belleau Lapointe, and Carole-Anne Emond, lawyer at Belleau Lapointe, during her swearing-in ceremony.

Sarah enjoys new challenges and had the opportunity to study at Beijing University of Political Science and Law (CUPL) and the Faculty of Law of the University of Costa Rica in San Jose while studying for her bachelor’s degree. She was also involved in the Legal Aid Clinic of the Université of Montreal. This will to surpass herself makes Sarah a precious asset in Belleau Lapointe’s team.

Celebrating its 18th anniversary, Belleau Lapointe continues to develop and aspires to maintain its reputation based on the excellence of its lawyers, committed litigators who defend the interests of their clients both in the court room and around the negotiation table. In fact, the skills of some of its lawyers are recognized year after year in such prestigious legal directories as Chambers Canada, Lexpert, Benchmark Litigation Canada and Best Lawyers in Canada.

Belleau Lapointe Participates in the Most Recent Case of the Supreme Court of Canada About Class Actions

Our colleagues Maxime Nasr and Violette Leblanc argued before the Supreme Court of Canada in the court’s most recent case regarding class actions and competition law. Their intervention allowed Option Consommateur, intervener in the Pioneer Corp v. Godfrey case, to present a comparative analysis between the Québec civil law and the common law applicable in the other provinces.

In this case, the plaintiff initiated a class action against manufacturers of optical disc drives who allegedly conspired to fix prices of these electronic devices, which allegedly caused harm to the purchasers of these products.

But many legal questions were raised and needed to be answered in order to determine the plaintiff’s right to proceed with the class action. First, it was necessary to determine if the statutory causes of action enacted in the Competition Act barred common law or equitable claims. It was also necessary to clarify if the umbrella purchasers could be part of the class action. Umbrella purchasers purchased products that were included in the class action but were manufactured and supplied by a non‑defendant.

Finally, another question concerned the two-year limitation period, before which it was necessary to initiate an action. More specifically, the question was to determine if the computation of this limitation period started at the time the material acts on which the cause of action is based took place, or at the moment these material facts were discovered by the plaintiff.

The Supreme Court of Canada ruled in favor of the plaintiff on all three questions. Congratulations to our colleagues for this great intervention and to Camp Fiorante Matthews Mogerman, and Siskinds, representing the plaintiff in this class action.

Belleau Lapointe recognized for a second year in the Prestigious Chambers Canada 2020 Guide

For a second year in a row, Belleau Lapointe stands out in the prestigious Chambers Canada Guide. Named in the Class Actions (Plaintiff) category, at the national level, Belleau Lapointe is recognized for its accomplished practice in class actions. The quality of the firm’s work is highlighted in the area of unfair competition, securities and product liability.

Our partners Daniel Belleau and Maxime Nasr are named again in the 2020 ranking in the same category. Daniel’s years of experience in class actions and versatility, as well as Maxime’s energy and skill in the Courtroom, are highlighted.

This recognition by their industry peers is an addition to the ones from Best Lawyers, Benchmark Canada and Lexpert that the firm and its team members have continued to receive for several years.

Vos avocats

Nouvelles

Une nouvelle arrivée au sein du cabinet Belleau Lapointe : Sarah Holloway

Félicitations à notre nouvelle avocate Sarah Holloway, qui a été assermentée le 18 septembre dernier. Sarah s’est d’abord jointe à l’équipe de Belleau Lapointe à titre de stagiaire du Barreau., Elle oriente aujourd’hui sa pratique en action collective, ainsi qu’en litige civil et commercial. Forte de son expérience antérieure dans un cabinet de notaire réputé de Montréal, elle s’intéresse également au domaine du litige successoral.

Mercredi 18 septembre 2019 : Sarah Holloway en compagnie de Maxime Nasr, associé chez Belleau Lapointe, et Carole-Anne Emond, avocate chez Belleau Lapointe, lors de son assermentation.

Aimant relever de nouveaux défis, Sarah a eu l’occasion d’étudier à l’Université de sciences politiques et de droit de Beijing (CUPL) et à la Faculté de droit de l’Université du Costa Rica à San Jose durant son parcours universitaire. Elle a également participé à la Clinique juridique de l’Université de Montréal. C’est cette volonté de toujours vouloir se dépasser qui fait d’elle un atout important dans l’équipe de Belleau Lapointe.

Célébrant ses 18 ans, Belleau Lapointe poursuit toujours son développement et aspire à conserver sa réputation qui repose sur l’excellence de ses avocats, des plaideurs engagés et prêts à livrer bataille ou à négocier au meilleur des intérêts de leurs clients. D’ailleurs, les compétences de certains de ses plaideurs sont reconnues, année après année, par les prestigieux répertoires Chambers Canada, Lexpert, Benchmark Litigation Canada et Best Lawyers in Canada.

Belleau Lapointe participe à la plus récente décision de la Cour suprême en matière d’actions collectives

Nos collègues Maxime Nasr et Violette Leblanc ont participé aux plaidoiries dans la plus récente décision de la Cour suprême du Canada (CSC) en matière d’actions collectives et de droit de la concurrence. Leur intervention a permis à Option consommateurs, intervenante dans le dossier Pioneer Corp c. Godfrey, de faire valoir quelques éléments de droit comparé entre le droit civil du Québec et la common law applicable dans le reste du Canada.

Dans ce recours, le demandeur avait intenté une action collective contre des fabricants de lecteurs de disques optiques, alléguant que ces fabricants s’étaient entendus entre eux pour en fixer les prix, créant ainsi un préjudice pour les acheteurs de ces produits.

Cependant, plusieurs questions de droit ont été soulevées, qu’il fallait éclaircir dans le contexte de cette action collective. Premièrement, il fallait déterminer si les recours usuels de la common law pouvaient coexister avec les recours spécifiquement prévus à la Loi sur la concurrence. Puis, il fallait aussi valider la possibilité pour les acheteurs sous parapluie (umbrella purchasers) de participer à l’action collective. Un acheteur sous parapluie est un acheteur qui s’est procuré un des produits visés, mais qui a été fabriqué par une personne qui n’est pas une des défenderesses visées.

La troisième question soulevée concernait la prescription de deux ans avant laquelle il fallait intenter une action. Ici, il fallait déterminer si la prescription commençait à s’écouler à partir du moment où les faits sont survenus, ou à partir du moment où les faits ont été découverts par le demandeur.

Sur les trois questions, la Cour suprême a tranché en faveur du demandeur. Félicitations à nos collègues pour cette belle intervention. Félicitations également aux cabinets Camp Fiorante Matthews Mogerman et Siskinds, qui représentent les demandeurs dans cette action collective.

Belleau Lapointe reconnu pour une seconde année dans le prestigieux guide Chambers Canada 2020

Pour une deuxième année consécutive, Belleau Lapointe se démarque dans le prestigieux guide Chambers Canada 2020. Nommé dans la catégorie Actions collectives (demande), à l’échelle nationale, Belleau Lapointe est reconnu pour sa pratique accomplie en actions collectives. La qualité du travail du cabinet est soulignée en matière de concurrence, de valeurs mobilières et de responsabilité civile.

Nos associés Daniel Belleau et Maxime Nasr sont à nouveau nommés dans l’édition 2020 dans la même catégorie. Les années d’expérience en matière de recours collectifs et la polyvalence de Daniel, ainsi que l’énergie et les talents de plaideurs de Maxime y sont soulignés.

Cette reconnaissance des pairs de l’industrie s’ajoute à celles de Best Lawyers, Benchmark Canada et Lexpert que le cabinet et les membres de l’équipe continuent de recevoir depuis plusieurs années.